Programming tools for dungeoncrawls

I don’t like consulting tables during play. If possible I’ll always automate any table I expect to use more than once. Thus I have programmed a general-purpose random encounters table for dungeoncrawls that don’t use their own tables. (And if I expect to run a dungeon with its own table for more than a session or two, I’ll program its tables too.)

Here’s the program for dungeoncrawls. Currently it tracks time in the dungeon, light, the need to rest, encounter distance, reaction rolls, and surprise. I might add in treasure for those monsters who carry it individually.

And here’s one for wilderness travel. It generates encounters, lairs if necessary, and treasure.

Boring coding details

I’m here using javascript and the random table engine/website “perchance”. I’m still learning javascript; all my previous experience is in haskell. If I wanted to lose the perchance dependency, in haskell I’d make a new type, (Int, [(Int, String)]), for the table. If you’re not familiar with haskell, that’s a tuple with an integer (obviously) and a list. Every element in the list is a tuple with an integer and a string. The first Int would be the dX to roll on the table. Some “rollTable” function would print the string from the first 2-tuple whose Int was less than the random roll.

I guess if I translated it to JavaScript I’d do the same thing with arrays. Or maybe I could try typescript? Or maybe I just say fuck it and translate the whole thing back to Haskell.

8 Appreciations
Thumbnail

4 Appreciations

This is pure gold, thanks!

2 Appreciations

Since I programmed this in part as a learning opportunity (get better at programming) I’d be happy to take language suggestions for the 2.0 version! I like the user-side ease of javascript, but I dislike the weak type system. No strong opinions on imperative programming yet, I’m too new at it.

2 Appreciations

Don’t take the thumbnail too seriously, Canyon. It’s just a little programmer joke.